Bristol Historical Society Holds Annual Dinner

Historical Society holds Spring Dinner

The Bristol Observer
May 24, 2016

The Bristol Historical Society held its Annual Spring Dinner at Nuchie’s Restaurant on Thursday evening, May 19. Murdo Smith served as Master of Ceremony. A banquet program book was given to all attendees. The design and formatting of this booklet was completed through the efforts of volunteer member, Paula O’Keefe.

“The Bristol Historical Society wishes to thank all the wonderful sponsors who placed ads in this booklet, as well as, businesses and individuals who contributed items for the raffle,” said a press release from the society.

Several recognitions and awards were given that evening.

The Bristol Federal Hill Association was recognized for its 20th anniversary, while Witch’s Dungeon Classic Movie Museum, organized and facilitated by Cortlandt Hull, was recognized, as it begins its 50th Year Anniversary. Eleanor O’Rourke and Pat Thompson were honored with a donation to the society of a beautiful historic map of Bristol by Dr. Dan Scoppetta. He thanked these two individuals, through a note, for their service to BHS and friendship extended to him. The O’Brien and Funk Funeral Homes were also recognized with gratitude for their continued support and generosity through Carriage Services. These businesses have enabled BHS to complete several major building projects including the completion of a new roof!

Later in the evening the Community Service Award was given by Tom LaPorte on behalf of the Historical Society to Hospice of the Bristol Hospital. Donna Marrero, Bristol Hospital Hospice clinical coordinator, accepted the award on behalf of this organization. Hospice of the Bristol Hospital assists patients and families, who are dealing with terminally ill family members.  This organization supplies compassionate care, comfort and other necessities required at this difficult time.

Last year’s winners, Bob Adamczyk and Jackie Vique presented the 2016 Volunteer of the Year Awards to the recipients. Recipients were Bob Boudreau, Bob Alim, and Kevin Prior known to members as BBK. This group of individuals contributes significant goods and services to the Society’s Annual Tag Sale, Christmas Fair and Auction. They donate, to the auction, certificates for the purchase of teas and dinners for eight to be held at their home. All services and food for these events are donated by them.

Pat Thompson, a long- time volunteer, was another recipient of a 2016 Volunteer of the Year Award. Pat donates extensive time at most activities including her outstanding efforts at the Tag Sale and Christmas Fair, not only setting up a telephone solicitation committee for bake goods but also managing the sales of these. She was instrumental in founding, as well as, the marketing, development and organization of the Annual Appraisal Fair. This evening is enjoyed yearly by all who attend. She is also a leading ad seller for the banquet program booklet. One of her more unusual and time-consuming endeavors, is attending tag sales and soliciting extensive amounts of items to be sold at the Annual Christmas Fair.  She certainly was a well-deserving recipient.

Nancy Denehy presented the Annual Bristol Historical Society Scholarship. She recognized her committee; David Greenleaf, Andrea Kapchensky, Elizabeth Lefrancois, Elizabeth Phelan, and Deborah Pieri. The winner of the 2016 scholarship was Olivia Kilbourne, daughter of Linda and Dean Kilbourne of Fern Hill Road. The recipient, a graduating senior from St. Paul Catholic High School, will attend Furman University in Greenville, N.C. Planning to major in biology, she will later pursue medical school enrollment to become a physician. Olivia read an essay that is a required part of the application process. This essay depicted the importance of Muzzy Field over the years as an athletic venue in addition to being a cultural institution that has significantly contributed to our community. She also interned with the Bristol Blues this past summer and found this an enjoyable and rewarding opportunity, as well as, a personal growth experience.

Members of the Banquet Committee included: Chairperson Bernie O’Keefe, Tom Dickau, Mary Houle, Andrea Kapchensky, Tom LaPorte, Paula O’Keefe, Eleanor O’Rourke, Maureen Sonstrom, and Pat Thompson.


The online article can be see here: Bristol Observer here.